Registration Information

This section is designed to help you, the parent, in obtaining the information you need to be able to enroll your child into Silver Valley Unified School District. Be sure to check the web-site for the individual school you plan to enroll in. If you need further information, contact
Proof of age shall be required of all enrolling students. The legal evidences of age, in order of desirability, are a birth certificate, baptismal certificate, passport, immigration certificate or Bible record. When none of the foregoing is obtainable, an affidavit from the parent/guardian may be accepted until such time as the legal forms of evidence are obtainable or the parent/guardian demonstrates that the legal evidences are not obtainable.
In addition to meeting the age requirements (5 years of age by September 2 of the current school year) and proper documentation, the student must also meet State of California immunization requirements. You can find the list of required immunizations under "Registration Information".
Any student entering kindergarten or first grade is also required to have a physical. The physical examination shall be done no earlier than six (6) months prior to entering kindergarten or eighteen (18) months prior to entering first grade.
Documentation Required
A student enrolling in any of the Silver Valley Unified School District schools must have the following documentation prior to enrolling:
The following documents are helpful when placing your child in a new school: 
  • Proof of Birth (Birth Certificate/Passport)
  • Proof of Immunization
  • Most recent report card
  • IEP (Individualized Education Plan) if your child is in a Special Education program
  • Completed Physical Form (Kindergarten and 1st grade only)
  • Completed Oral Health Screening (Kindergarten and 1st grade only)
Immunizations Required
Every pupil 17 years of age or younger is required by law to be fully immunized against Polio, Diptheria, Pertussis/Whooping Cough, Tetanus, Measles, Mumps and Rubella, and Hepatitis B. Chicken pox vaccine is required for kindergarten entry or for anyone coming from out of the State of California. The parent/guardian has the right to sign an affidavit of personal belief exempting his/her child from immunization requirements. (Education Code 49043, 48216, 489808)
REFERENCE: Health and Safety Code, Division 105, Part 2, Chapter 1, Sections 120325-120380; California Code of Regulations, Title 17, Division 1, Chapter 4, Subchapter 8, Sections 6000-6075
IMMUNIZATION: To enter or transfer into public and private elementary and secondary schools (grades kindergarten through 12), children under age 18 years must have immunizations as outlined below.
4 doses at any age, but…3 doses meet requirement of ages 4-6 years if at least one was given on or after the 4th birthday (1);
3 doses meet requirement for ages 7-17 years if at least one was given on or after the 2nd birthday (1)
Diphtheria, Tetanus, and Pertussis
Age 6 years and under (Pertussis is required) - DTP, Dtap or any combination of DTP or DtaP with DT (tetanus and diphtheria)
5 doses at any age, but…
4 doses meet requirement for ages 4-6 years if at least one was on or after the 2nd birthday (1)
Age 7 years and older (Pertussis not required), Td, DT, or DTP, DtaP or any combination of these:
4 doses at any age, but... 3 doses meet requirement for ages 7-17 years if at least one was on or after the 2nd birthday (1). If last does was given before the 2nd birthday, one more (Td) dose is required.
7th grade - TB booster
1 dose not required but recommended if more than r 5 years have passed since last DTP, DtaP, DT, or Td dose
Tdap (Whooping Cough) Grades 7-12
Measles, Mumps, Rubella (MMR)
Kindergarten - 2 doses (2) both on or after 1st birthday (1)
7th grade - 2 doses (2) both on or after 1st birthday (1)
Grades 1-6 and 8-12 - 1 dose must be on or after 1st birthday (1)
Hepatitis B
Kindergarten - 3 doses at any age
Kindergarten - 1 dose (4)
2 dose for ages 13-17 years applies to transfer student who were not admitted to a California school before July 1, 2001
              Tdap Booster (Tetanus, reduced diphtheria, and pertussis)
                           7th grade:  1 does on or after 7th birthday
Transportation to School
The school district will provide transportation for students under provisions of state law and regulations. Students who reside beyond the maximum walking distance as defined below shall be eligible for transportation service to the school for their attendance area. Maximum walking distances to a school or bus stop are:
  • Grades K-3: three-fourths mile
  • Grades 4-8: one mile
  • Grades 9-12: two miles
    If your child will ride a bus to school, the school will provide you with the bus stop and the time your child will be picked up when you register.



Back to Top

For technical questions and comments regarding this website, please contact the Webmaster.